There will be five former men’s champions missing in the main draw at this year’s US Open.

This follows Friday’s decision by four-time former champion Rafael Nadal to shut down his season due to a foot injury.

Tennis Opinion Worldwide lists the five former champions who won’t be in action at Flushing Meadows from 30 August-12 September:

Rafael Nadal

The Spaniard won the US Open four times – in 2010, 2013, 2017 and 2019.

Picture: ATP Tour – Twitter

Roger Federer

The Swiss great triumphed five consecutive times in New York between 2004-2008. He is also out for the year after confirming he’ll undergo more knee surgery.

Stan Wawrinka

Federer’s compatriot won the 2016 US Open when he beat Novak Djokovic in four sets in the final.

The three-time major winner is sidelined after foot surgeries in March and June.

Juan Martin del Potro

The giant Argentine won his sole Grand Slam title when he stunned Federer in the 2009 final.

Del Potro has been sidelined with a serious knee injury since June 2019.

Dominic Thiem

The Austrian won’t be able to defend the title he won in 2020 because of a wrist injury.

There will however be three former champions in the US Open field – Novak Djokovic, the winner in 2011, 2015 and 2018, the 2012 champion Andy Murray and 2014 titlist Marin Cilic.

Djokovic will be the overwhelming favourite but the likes of Alexander Zverev, Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Andrey Rublev will also be contenders.